Muttra, or as it correctly spelled Mathura, is the north-western district of the Agra division and lies between the parallels of 27° 14' and 27° 58' north latitude and 77°17' and 78°12' east longitude. It is bounded on the northwest by the Gurgaon district of Punjab. On the north-east and east by Aligarh, except for some eight miles where the borders of the Sadabad tahsil march with those of the Etah district; on the south by Agra ; and on the west by the independent state of Bharatpur.

Read More